Partnerships & Philanthropy

Buck Weirus Spirit Awardees Embody Aggie Spirit in Galveston


Ten students from Texas A&M University at Galveston received the Buck Weirus Spirit Award in College Station over the weekend. Awarded annually to 55 current students whose outstanding involvement makes a positive difference in the lives of others, these student leaders at the Galveston campus contribute to the university and campus community through their participation in student organizations, Aggie traditions and events. 

With Galveston students making up nearly a fifth of the awardees, Lauren Bothwell ‘25, the campus’s upcoming student body president for the 2023-2024 academic year, told bldg. 311 “We have built such a special community here, and I think it was really represented this weekend when Galveston students won ten of the 55 awards with only a mere fraction of the student population.” With this representation of the Galveston campus, there is no doubt that the Aggie Spirit flourishes on Pelican Island. 

For award recipient Carolyn Pope ‘23, getting involved on campus was “one of the best decisions” she’s made during her academic career. “My involvement has had the greatest impact on my experience here at Texas A&M at Galveston,” she said. The marine biology major is active in Orientation and Transition Leaders (OTL), Save Our Seas, Student Government Association and SALT Camp, and is an undergraduate researcher. “I’m incredibly grateful to receive the Buck Weirus Spirit Award and it’s amazing to have student involvement recognized in this way!” 

“I am beyond honored to stand alongside my fellow student leaders and accept the Buck Weirus Spirit Award,” said Bothwell. “Texas A&M Galveston has been my home since I first stepped onto campus for Sea Camp in 2016.  I am so thankful to have been provided this wonderful opportunity by the school that has already given me so much.”

This prestigious honor from the Association of Former Students was awarded to Lauren Bothwell ‘25, Kiara Carrasco ‘24, Tara Donnelly ‘23, Cameron Henderson ‘24, Cadence Housmans ‘25, Cosmo Kinsey ‘23, Carolyn Pope ‘23, Hannah Thornton ‘24, Kase Whitten ‘24 and Ashton Whittington ‘25. 

2023 recipients of the Buck Weirus Spirit Award

Media Contact

Taylor Bounds